Frequently Asked Questions

Tax Credit:

Q: How does the program work?

A: Qualified owners of agricultural assets who agree to rent to an eligible beginning farmer for
three (3) years are eligible to receive a 10% Nebraska income tax credit on the amount of cash rent
received, or 15% on the owner’s share of the cash equivalent of the share rent received each year for
three (3) years.

Q: I’'m 45 years old and have just started farming in the last couple of years. Am I too old to
gualify as a beginning farmer?

No, age is not a factor in determining eligibility. You qualify as a beginning farmer as long as you meet
the eligibility requirements.

Q: Can I rent from an owner who is arelative?

A: Yes, you and/or the asset owner need to attend a succession planning workshop and complete a
Succession Workshop Confirmation form to submit with your application. You also need to complete
and submit a Succession Plan Form that is signed and dated by the beginning farmer/rancher, asset
owner, and a notary public attesting that a written succession plan for the assets included in their
rental agreement exists that meets the intent of the requirements set forth by the Beginning Farmer
Tax Credit Act 877-5211(5).

A relative, for the purpose of this requirement, is defined as children, grandchildren, great
grandchildren, parents, grandparents, great grandparents, siblings, nieces and nephews, aunts and
uncles.

Q: Does the tax credit apply only to land leases or would rent on other types of agricultural assets
qualify?

In addition to land, other types of agricultural assets, such as livestock, crop storage, livestock
facilities, equipment, and machinery qualify as well.

Q: Can I rent from different people or just one at a time?

A: Yes, you can rent from different people. You can submit them all at one time, or you can add owners
and their information within one year of your application and net worth statement. You will need to
complete a new cash flow which includes the additional farming operation information. If a year has
lapsed since your original application and net worth statements were submitted, you must reapply and
meet the eligibility requirements.

Q: Once my three-year term is up for the current farm | am renting, can | apply for the tax credit on
another farm for three years?

A: Yes, as long as you still meet the eligibility requirements.

Q: How would a tax credit be figured on a share rent agreement?

A: The tax credit would be based on the cash equivalent of a share crop, livestock share, or other similar

types of arrangements. The amount should be apparent after the beginning farmer and owner
complete the cash equivalent statement.

Examples:
Cash rent: 100 acres x $250 cash rent per acre = $25,000 total cash rent x 10% = $2,500 each year

for three years, for a total of $7,500.

Share crop rent: 100 acres x 200 bushels per acre x 50% (owner’s share) = 10,000 bushels x $4.50 =
$45,000 for owner’s share x 15 % = $6,750 each year for three years, for a total of $20,250.

Cowl/calf share rent: 100 calves x 50% (owner’s share) = 50 calves x $825 (value of animal at time of
division of calves) = $41,250 x 15% = $6,188 each year for three years, for a total of $18,563.
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Do | qualify as an agricultural asset owner?

An agricultural asset owner is anyone who has ownership interest in an agricultural asset located
within the state of Nebraska. This includes a spouse, child, or sibling who has acquired an ownership
interest in agricultural assets as a joint tenant, heir, or devisee of an individual or trustee. Also,
partnerships, corporations, limited liability companies, or other business entities having ownership
interest in an agricultural asset located within the state of Nebraska.

What if the amount of the tax credit due to the asset owner is more than he or she owes in state
income taxes?

The Act states that this is a refundable tax credit. This means the asset owner would receive a check
for any amount in excess of that owed to the state for income taxes.

Is there a deadline for applying for the tax credit?
Yes, you have until December 31 to submit your application to receive a tax credit for the current
year.

Who makes the final determination of eligibility?
A Governor appointed Board of Directors is responsible for reviewing all applications and certifying
eligibility for the Personal Property Tax Exemption, financial class reimbursement, and the tax credit.

Personal Property Tax Exemption:
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Is there a Deadline for the Personal Property Tax Exemption?
Yes. Your application must be received by November 1% of the year preceding the year for which
exemptions are sought.

If | am approved for the Personal Property Tax Exemption, what do | do next?

You will receive a packet in the mail with your Certificate of Eligibility, along with a 1027 Form.
Complete the 1027 Form and take it, along with your Certificate of Eligibility, to your county assessor
by December 31%. Your exemption will start the following year.

Can | add items to my Tax Exemption list?
Yes, however, the three-year time limit still applies.

See Figure 1

For example:
Year 1 is 2015, and you list a tractor and a grain bin as tax exempt items. These items will be tax

exempt for 2015, 2016, and 2017.

Year 2 is 2016, and you add a pivot to your tax exemption list. The pivot is only tax exempt for 2016
and 2017.

Year 3 is 2017, and you add a baler to your tax exemption list. The baler is only tax exempt for 2017.

Figure 1
ltem 2015 2016 2017
Tractor Tax Exempt Tax Exempt Tax Exempt
Grain Bin Tax Exempt Tax Exempt Tax Exempt
'11 add Pivot Tax Exempt Tax Exempt
'12 add Baler Tax Exempt

| currently do not have a lot of items. If | apply for the tax credit now, should | apply for the
Personal Property Tax Exemption, or can | apply for the Personal Property Tax Exemption
later?

It would be in your best interest to wait on the tax exemption until you have more items. You can apply
for the Personal Property Tax Exemption in year 1, year 2, or year 3 of the tax credit program, or you
may reapply for the Personal Property Tax Exemption, as long as you still meet the eligibility
requirements.
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